What Happens When One Fat Patient Sees A Doctor

What Happens When One Fat Patient Sees A Doctor
On seeking health care for the first time in years.

I am calm when I make the call to request an appointment with a new doctor. The anxiety sets in with the silence that follows.

In the days leading up to the appointment, I hardly sleep. The weekend is tense and anxious. I withdraw from friends, canceling plans, knowing how distant I can be in moments like these. I keep myself busy with long walks, housework, distracting movies, but no matter what I do, I can feel my heart beat in every inch of my body. My skin pulsates with tension, ready to react. Ready to run.

I am very fat, and on Monday, I will face my first doctor’s appointment in years…

About SBolithoe

Librarian, author, blogger, presenter, history buff and animal lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

